Change is Happening

Magic Man - Before the Waves

I have decided to move the focus of this blog to music, rather than personal musings; although I’m sure personal musings will be included. I have no idea how frequent my entries will be, but I’m shooting for at least once weekly.

A little about my music background: I saw my first live concert at the age of 9 and was hooked. There is something so visceral about the live experience that I have heard it equated to a religious experience, better than sex, even better than chocolate (which is what I thought at 9). I believe that I bought my first album around 8 and have been building my music collection ever since.

My music obsession makes me burst with joy when I find new bands that speak to me and I just want to scream from the rooftops how good these bands are. Technically I do, just via social media. I am very focused on altrock/indierock music and am one of the few people I know that listens to commercial, terrestrial radio. In addition, I have Sirius XM in my car and have been turned on to some amazing bands that haven’t hit terrestrial radio yet.

One of my long term goals is to create a venue where these bands can play in Utah. The lineups will be so great that people will drive down from Salt Lake for a show (SLC residents always complain about how far it is to come to Provo). My inspiration is the club, Popscene, in San Francisco which was created by Live 105’s program director, Aaron Axelson, and his friends almost 18 years ago. It’s a badge of your devotion to new, cutting edge music to be able to say, “I saw The Killers at Popscene before anyone knew they existed.” I want to create a similar vibe, hopefully in Provo. First, I need to find people who would enjoy the music I would book. That’s what this blog will be about from now on… sharing music and creating a community who wants to see that music live.

On to the music

I was first introduced to Magic Man when they opened for my pals, New Politics. Magic Man’s performance was stellar and the songs ‘Paris’ and ‘Texas’ from their EP ‘You Are Here’ burrowed into my brain. As a SiriusXM subscriber, I heard the second single, ‘Out of Mind’, from their new record ‘Before the Waves’ a couple of weeks before their album dropped July 8th. I am in love with this band, and ‘Out of Mind’ is the song that I have on repeat right now.

It seems that I am not the only one who loves this band. Not only are they opening for Panic At The Disco right now, but ‘Before the Waves’, debuted on Billboard’s charts on 3 of the album charts: Hot 200 at #114, Alternative at #21 and Rock at #30. Want to hear what people are raving about? Check out the album on Spotify:


And the video for ‘Out of Mind’ on YouTube:

Like what you hear? Share this post!

Leave a comment